June 28, 2022, Mayville City Council

The Mayville City Council met for their organizational meeting on June 28, 2022, at 5:00 pm in the council chambers with Mayor Bensen presiding and then handing off to newly seated Mayor Jorgenson. The following Aldermen responding to call of the roll: O'Brien, Gates, Moen, Carr. Absent: Petersen, Bohnsack. Also in attendance: Gail Olstad, Julie Christianson, Aaron Soholt.

Carr made a motion to accept the election results as certified by the Traill County Auditor. Gates seconded the motion supporting it, motion carried.

1

Mayor Mayville (Vote for One):	
Karl Jorgenson	264
Write-In - Tim (Buck) Olson	1
Write-In - Linda Baier	1
Write-In – Steve Bensen	2
Write-In – Mike Carr	1
Write-In – Lowell Domier	1
Write-In – Charlie Moen	1
Write-In – Jon Nygard	1
Write-In – Larry O'Brien	1
Write-In – Aaron Soholt	1
Write-In – Scattered	0
Council Momber Mayville at Lorge (Vote for 2):	

Council Member Mayville at Large (Vote for 3):	
Charlie Moen	262
Ray Petersen	256
Aaron Soholt	5
Write-In – Kelly Archambeau	1
Write-In – Roger Baier	1
Write-In – Bill Bohnsack	1
Write-In – Jay Burley	1
Write-In – Mike Carr	1
Write-In – Dan Conway	1
Write-In – Neil Dornacker	1
Write-In - Ashley Erickson	1
Write-In – Gilbert Growth	1
Write-In – Sarah Iverson	1
Write-In – Ross Johnson	1
Write-In – Becky Jorgenson	1
Write-In – Karl Jorgenson	1
Write-In – Lon Jorgensen	1
Write-In – Byron Kleven	1
Write-In – Brent Kohls	l
Write-In – Kim Labine	1
Write-In – Jeremy Marquardt	1
Write-In – Wendy Mehus	1
Write-In – Kim Meshefski-Labine	1
Write-In – Tom Moen	1
Write-In – Larry O'Brien	1
Write-In - Hannah Perkins	1
Write-In – Doug Petersen	1
Write-In – Derek Peterson	1
Write-In – Jeni	1
Write-In – Richard	1
Write-In – Jerod	1
Write-In – Tim Strand	1
Write-In – David Torgeson	3
Write-In – Rick Wilson	1
Write-In – Michael Winkler	2
Scattered	2
June 28, 2022	

Municipal Judge Mayville (Vote for One):

Thomas R. Moe	278
Write-In – Cassie Tostenson	1
Scattered	1

Park Board Member Mayville Park (Vote for 2):

,	
Jeremy Marquardt	283
Jacob Jaffa	246
Scattering	1

1% Sales Tax for Infrastructure Mayville:

Yes	23
No	65

Aaron Soholt was welcomed to the Council. Mayor Bensen turned the gavel and meeting over to Mayor Jorgenson.

Gates made a motion to accept the mayor's recommendation to appoint Larry O'Brien as Council President and Bill Bohnsack as Vice President. Moen seconded the motion supporting it, motion carried.

Moen made a motion to accept the mayor's committee appointments. Gates seconded the motion supporting it, motion carried.

Physical Plant Committee:

Bill Bohnsack, Chairman

Ben Gates Aaron Soholt

Administrative Committee:

Larry O'Brien, Chairman

Ray Petersen Charlie Moen

Regular Committee Meetings will be scheduled as follows:

- Administrative Committee 5p 6:30p the Tuesday before Regular Monthly Council Meetings (1st Monday of the month if Council is rescheduled Administrative Committee will be as well).
- Physical Plant Committee 6p 7:30p the Wednesday prior to Regular Monthly Council Meetings (1st Monday of the month if Council is rescheduled Physical Plant Committee will be as well).

O'Brien made a motion to accept the mayor's appointment of Gail Olstad to the position of City Auditor. Moen seconded the motion supporting it, motion carried.

Gates made the motion to accept the mayor's appointment of Nilson Brand Law Firm to the position of City Attorney. Soholt seconded the motion supporting it, motion carried. Alderman Moen abstained from the vote.

Gates made a motion to accept the following appointments:

Position	Member
Library	Julie Christianson
Park Board	Bill Bohnsack
LARC	Bill Bohnsack
RZA	Larry O'Brien
JP	Larry O'Brien
	Gail Olstad
Hospital	Ray Petersen
RRVWSP	Bill Bohnsack

P&Z	Ben Gates
Special Assessment	Tbd
MPEDC	Bill Bohnsack
Riverwood Build	Ray Petersen
College	Mike Carr
Fire Department	Karl Jorgenson
Emergency Planning	Charlie Moen
Flood Plain	Gail Olstad
Armory	Gail Olstad
	Ray Petersen
	Don Moen
Airport	Larry O'Brien
Sheriff	Gail Olstad
Engineers	Gail Olstad
Assessor	Gail Olstad
Judge	Gail Olstad
Other:	
Traill County Redistricting	Bill Bohnsack
Citizen/Board largest pop	
MSU	Mike Carr
Golf Course	Mike Carr

Soholt seconded the motion supporting it, motion carried.

Gates made a motion to adjourn. Soholt seconded it, motion carried.

Attest:

Mayor

Karl Jorgenso